Mama’s French Toast for Lunch? Why Not?!?

Standard
Mama’s French Toast for Lunch? Why Not?!?

Every household has a unique way to make French Toast – right? I didn’t know this until a galpal offered to make me French Toast one morning about 20 years ago, and she added Cinnamon – YUCK!

My Mama always made my favourite breakfast using just Nutmeg. So needless to say I’ve insisted on Nutmeg throughout the past 20+ years, much to the chagrin of my husband, who is also a Cinnamon fan.

PLUS… Mom loved Roger’s Golden Syrup and used it often on both her late night snack of Corn Flakes, and also on our mutual favourite breakfast – Mama’s French Toast.

So that is what I was brought up to use on my French Toast – not Maple Syrup or any reasonable facsimile (I insist on honey on my Pancakes) It’s pretty rare for me to order French Toast when I’m out at a restaurant for breakfast, and for all these reasons I prefer to make my fav at home.

Sometimes you need to give yourself permission to improve on an old favourite…

I used to drag out my full-sized, electric griddle just to make my special breakfast, which made it something that only happened every once in a while.

Plus I only made French Toast for 2 or more people, and never just as a treat for myself. This Spring, I discovered that I could use my Excalibur-coated frying pan on the stove, and get the same effect as pulling out my griddle.

Now I could have French Toast for One, and today I missed Breakfast due to being engrossed in the Summer Olympics (Mens’ Gymnastics All Around), I decided to make myself French Toast for lunch.

Mama’s Gold Medal French Toast

2 Eggs (well beaten)

¼ cup Milk

1 tsp.  White Sugar (well almost)

½ tsp. Ground Nutmeg (or a couple shakes)

2 slices* White Bread, Thick Sliced (2 to 3 days old works best)

1-2 tbsp.  Butter (!!!)

Roger’s Golden Syrup

________________________________________________________________________________

STEP 1: Using an appropriate sized bowl, I cracked the two eggs in first,
and whipped them up for a minute

STEP 2: Next I added a couple of dollops of skim milk (about a ¼ cup, or less)
just to change the colour and consistency of the eggs

STEP 3: Then I shook in some nutmeg, and add a small spoonful of sugar,
and whipped it all up a bit more

STEP 4: Melt a tablespoon (or two) in your “Teflon” frying pan
over medium-high heat until bubbly

STEP 5: Dip your bread into the egg mixture,
and place them into your pre-heated pan

STEP 6: Watching closely… cook until nicely browned on each side flipping once
to brown each side. Add extra butter, if required

STEP 7: Drizzle with corn syrup and enjoy!

*This recipe would probably make up to 4 slices if you were
really, really hungry, or were using thinly sliced bread

________________________________________________________________________________

Today, I had also added some fresh Saskatoon Berries, which were a rare find at my local, independent grocer.

Usually, I’m a purist and don’t like anything other than Bacon with my French Toast…
but today’s addition totally made this impromptu meal into a Gold Medal Plate for me!

What do you use in your family’s French Toast recipe? Cinnamon or Nutmeg? Maple Syrup or Corn Syrup?
(Please weigh in below)

Leave a Reply

