The Easier Way to Roast Garlic Using Your Stove-top

Standard
The Easier Way to Roast Garlic Using Your Stove-top

About a month ago I was watching another cooking show (so addicted) when I came across what appeared to be a solution to all my garlic-roasting problems. It was mentioned as an aside, and therefore not demonstrated, nor was there a true recipe provided… but I just knew that I had to give it a try!

As I’m such a huge garlic fan (but an impatient garlic-roaster), I was immediately intrigued by this alternative method to roasting garlic on my stove-top! In less than an hour, you too can have amazing, yummy roasted garlic – and its’ very useful by-product roasted garlic oil.

In 1998 I remember attempting a recipe for 40 Cloves of Garlic and a Mickey of Brandy Chicken from the Girls Who Dish cookbook for a dinner party. (Alas, I no longer have the cookbook, nor the recipe, but the link will take you to some reasonable facsimiles). That was the last time I shucked THAT many cloves of garlic in one sitting! The chicken was amazing, and you were left with 40 yummy cloves of roasted garlic to slather on bread with your meal. Delicious – do try!

If you’re like me, you’ve probably had some success in trying to roast garlic using a variety of standard oven methods – in foil vs. uncovered, in cupcake tins with oil, separated cloves vs. whole heads of garlic… but the results are the same… eventually you have to squeeze all those roasted garlic cloves out of their protective coverings… so why not do the peeling first?

Also, if you’re a ‘Curious George’ like me, then roasting garlic in the oven when it’s all wrapped up in tin foil makes it difficult to watch for your desired level of carmelization. But, I found this stove-top method a much easier way to view how things are going all the way through the roasting process.

Finally what clinched the deal for me was… on a recent trip to my local grocer I noticed that they were now supplying ‘pre-shucked’ garlic cloves, and I just knew that the time was right to give this alternative method a try – ergo Stove-Top Roasted Garlic!

If you're lucky enough to find a grocery produce department that does this critical first step for you... snap up everything that they have!

Place peeled garlic in sauce pan and cover with olive oil, heat until the oil is bubbling lightly (not boiling)

You'll need to watch your pot carefully to avoid over-roasting your garlic - this batch was too crispy to use. Aim for a very light golden colour.

Using a slotted spoon transfer the cloves to a plate and gently mash them with a fork.

In this batch I mashed all the cloves, but you could also save them whole for future use.

Transfer to sealed container and store in your fridge for up to 30 days.

All the oil left in the pot can now be used to flavour future dished too - a truly delicious by-product of this process.

Now there isn’t really a true recipe for this process, and I’ll warn you… it WILL take a bit of babysitting at the stove and regular checks on individual cloves to test for desired consistency (mash-ability).

Here are some more hints to help you along…

* Use double (or triple) the amount of garlic cloves that you think you need. I used about 300g, but subsequently went back for another 500g to create the volume shown in the Ziploc container and cooked this in 3 batches (don’t forget I toasted and not roasted the 2nd batch)

* Be dedicated to checking your garlic as it “roasts” on the stove-top every 5-10 minutes, set a timer to remind you

* When you first start roasting don’t be afraid to turn the oil up to High on your stove, but once it starts bubbling reduce the heat to low or medium-low depending on your burner’s temperature

* The cloves should be bubbling just slightly through the majority of the process, which will probably take 30-45 minutes

* Crispy garlic can still be used to flavour soups and stews, but taste it before you save it to ensure that it doesn’t taste burnt. I chopped my “toasted” batch in my food processor, and placed it in a sealed container in the fridge for future use. Waste not – want not! This could actually be a fun, new snack for the super garlic lover in your life!

* Next time I think that I’ll try it in my deep fryer and make a really big batch for our summer entertaining use at the cottage!!

Now what can you use this yummy roasted garlic for??? These are some of my own uses so far this past week…

1. Add a heaping tablespoon into sauteed mushrooms towards the end when making sides for your steak – YUM!

2. Add to vegetable base for beef stroganoff for a deeper and sweeter garlic flavour.

3. Add a 1 teaspoon to 1/2 cup of sour cream + 1/2 cup mayo + 2 chopped green onions for a great baby potato or baked potato topper (let sit in fridge for a couple of hours before serving).

4. Of course it’s also a great condiment for any sandwich, hot dog or burger.

5. Plus it’s a super addition to any appetizer tray with cheese and crackers.

“No one is indifferent to garlic. People either love it or hate it,
and most good cooks seem to belong in the first group.” – Faye Levy
(for more great garlic quotes click here)


How will YOU use your new, easy-to-make Roasted Garlic?

Please feel free to share your ideas in the comments section below.

About GoodToGreat Public Speaking Training

Hi, I’m Anna Coleshaw-Echols and I would like to cure the world of their fear of public speaking. I believe it can be done in just six weeks if you follow my Giving the Gift guidelines. Ask yourself… Are my past experiences the root cause of my public speaking fear today? Can I leave those experiences in the past, treating them as learning experiences and not reasons for fear? And if the answer is no, then ask yourself what would it take for you to leave those memories once and for all in the past?

Leave a Reply

